Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige
Your location:

Information Security and CESG scheme

It can be argued that information is an organisation’s most important asset and with increasing levels of reliance, it is paramount that information is appropriately protected. BCS Professional Certifications offers a portfolio of certifications which address the need to ensure the confidentiality, integrity and availability of information assets.

With a broad based foundation course which provides a comprehensive overview of all the key principles of information security, IT professionals can progress to practitioner certifications which provide more in depth insights into information risk management and business continuity as well as data protection and freedom of information legislation. 

BCS certifications are internationally recognised and have been developed in line with widely accepted and proven best practices. They are aligned to the ISO/IEC 27000 series and BS 25999 standards.

  • Foundation

    • Certificate in Information Security Management Principles

      With an ever changing climate of technology and threats (both technical and human), the need for trained security personnel to protect our information becomes increasingly critical. This certification proves that the holder has a good knowledge and understanding of the wide range of subject areas that make up information security management including risk management, technical and management controls, legal framework, people and physical security, security standards (e.g. ISO 27001) and business continuity.
  • Practitioner

    • Certificate in Business Continuity Management

      The certification promotes a hands-on approach to all stages of the business continuity management (BCM) lifecycle from conducting a business impact analysis to the exercising of business continuity plans. Making full use of current standards (including ISO 22301:2012), students are able to make a significant contribution to the BCM process when returning to their organisation.
    • Certificate in Data Protection

      The Certificate in Data Protection is designed for those with some data protection responsibilities in an organisation or who, for other reasons, wish to achieve and demonstrate a broad understanding of the law and its practical application. Developed to provide candidates with an industry recognised certification that incorporates the latest changes and updates outlined in the Data Protection Act of 1998.
    • Certificate in Freedom of Information

      The certificate is based on the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) and its implications to public and private sector organisations, as well as to individuals. The Act contains requirements for the publication of information held by, or held on behalf of public authorities. These requirements include the publication and maintenance of publication schemes, and the need to respond to requests for information, dependent upon any appropriate exemptions.
    • Certificate in Information Risk Management

      This certification promotes a hands-on approach to all aspects of information risk management including identifying and valuing assets, setting scopes and conducting risk assessments (incorporating threat and vulnerability assessments). Making full use of current international standards (including the ISO 27000 series) students are able to make a significant contribution to the information risk management process when returning to their organisation.
    • Certificate in Information Assurance Architecture

      An Information Assurance Architect must drive beneficial security change into the business through the development or review of architectures so that they; fit business requirements for security, mitigate the risks and conform to the relevant security policies and balance information risk against cost of countermeasures.

Career path

The career path below illustrates the potential career progression you can make in IT Governance, Information and Security. It recognises the importance of certification and experience, and provide high level alignment with SFIAplus and the Institute’s membership grades.

View the career path diagram (PDF)


CESG logo

The BCS CESG Certified Professional Scheme provides independent assessment for those working in Information Assurance.

Coming soon!

New Data Protection foundation certificate. Find out more