Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige
Your location:

ITIL IT Service Management

Foundation Certificate

The ITIL® Foundation certificate is for candidates who want to learn about service management as a practice and gain an awareness of the key principles and models in the ITIL service lifecycle.

Who is this aimed at?

Anyone working in an IT service delivery, service management or service desk environment or where IT services are a core competency.

What are the entry requirements?

None. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What format is the exam?

  • One hour ‘closed book’
  • 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (26/40)

Where can I take the exam?

Option 1: With an accredited training provider

Option 2: Online exam (at a test centre: Pearson Vue)

How many ITIL credits does this attract?

2 ITIL credits.

Where can I read more?

You can read more in the syllabus. To test your knowledge, try some of the examination questions in this sample paper (and check your answers).

What can I do next?

After passing the Foundation certificate, you can continue your training with ITIL Intermediate certifications and BCS Specialist qualifications.

Please note: From 1 April 2016 BCS will not be providing ITIL pins for those that have successfully completed their examinations.

ITIL® is a Registered Trade Mark of AXELOS Limited.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualification in Wales, CCEA or SQA.