Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige
Your location:

ISTQB Certified Tester

Foundation Level (CTFL)

In partnership with the International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB®) this is the first level in the most comprehensive software testing programme. Candidates will follow defined learning objectives as specified in the syllabus to remember, understand, apply and analyse the concepts of software testing.

Completely refreshed for 2018, the ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level Certificate sets the new global standard for software testing and is seen as the benchmark against which software testing professionals are measured.

To ensure a smooth transition, and particularly to ensure that candidates recently qualified or currently studying against the 2011 version receive the full recognition they deserve, BCS will continue to offer Certification against both the 2011 syllabus and the new 2018 syllabus until June 2019, when the 2011 syllabus and exams will be retired. Candidates should check with your chosen training partner which version(s) of the syllabus they support.

It is important to stress that exams taken against the 2011 syllabus still provide a high-quality qualification.

Who is this aimed at?

Principally aimed at anyone involved in software testing, it will also be of interest to project managers, quality managers, business analysts and IT directors or management consultants. The Certified Tester Foundation Level is the first step on a fully integrated BCS pathway towards intermediate and higher testing certifications, ensuring full professional recognition for your software testing skills.

What are the entry requirements?

None. However, training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What format is the exam?

  • One hour ‘closed book’
  • 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (26/40)

Simple non-programmable calculators can be used during paper based examinations (to be provided by the candidate). Candidates taking online examinations will have access to an on-screen calculator. No other calculators or mobile technology will be allowed.

Where can I take the exam?

Option 1: With an accredited training provider offering exams against both the 2011 and the NEW 2018 syllabus. (Please check which version your training provider is currently offering)

Option 2: Online (at a test centre: Pearson Vue) Until further notice, only the exam against the 2011 syllabus will be available via Pearson Vue.
Guide price: £192 (£160 + VAT) based on UK RRP
Please check Pearson Vue website for local prices.

Software Testing: An ISEB Foundation (3rd Edition)Where can I read more?

You can read more in the new 2018 syllabus, or if you still need to look at the original, you can view the 2011 syllabus.

The BCS textbook, Software Testing, is recommended reading when preparing for these exams.

To test your knowledge, try some typical examination questions in this new ISTQB 2018 syllabus sample paper, and then you can look at the answers in the 2018 sample paper answers.

For candidates that need to refer back to the 2011 syllabus, then the ISTQB 2011 syllabus sample paper is available, along with 2011 sample paper answers.

What can I do next?

You may be interested in our other Foundation level certifications in the software testing portfolio or you may be eligible to proceed to the BCS Intermediate level certification and beyond that into ISTQB Higher level certifications, that comprehensively address specific roles and their associated skills.

Once you have passed, please remember to add your new certification to your LinkedIn profile and let your networks know about your achievement. You will also have the option to add your name to the ISTQB successful candidate register.

ISTQB® is a Registered Trade Mark of the International Software Testing Qualifications Board.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications in Wales, CCEA or SQA.