Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige
Your location:

Software Testing

Intermediate certificate

This certification has a more practical approach to the core software testing material covered at Foundation level. Candidates will focus on testing fundamentals including principles, types, management, analysis and other aspects up to level K4 of the learning objectives.

Who is this aimed at?

Anyone involved in any aspect of software testing or who is looking for a more practical approach to core software testing knowledge. 

What are the entry requirements?

Candidates must hold ISTQB Certiifed Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) and have at least 18 months experience in software testing and / or have completed a BCS accredited training course for the Intermediate Certificate in Software Testing.

Training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What format is the exam?

  • One hour ‘closed book’
  • 25 scenario-based questions
  • Pass mark is 60% (15/25)

Simple non-programmable calculators can be used during paper based examinations (to be provided by the candidate). Candidates taking online examinations will have access to an on-screen calculator. No other calculators or mobile technology will be allowed.

Where can I take the exam?

Option 1: With an accredited training provider

Option 2: Online (exam only - at a test centre: Pearson Vue).
Guide price: £204 (£170 + VAT) based on UK RRP
Please check Pearson Vue website for local prices.

Software Testing: An ISEB Intermediate CertificateWhere can I read more?

You can read more in the syllabus.

To test your knowledge, try some of the examination questions in this specimen questions paper.

BCS textbook, Software Testing, is recommended reading when preparing for the exam.

What can I do next?

You may be interested in our Higher level certifications.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications in Wales, CCEA or SQA.