Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige
Your location:

Information Risk Management

Practitioner Certificate

This certification provides a hands-on approach to learning about all aspects of information risk management and makes full use of current international standards (including the ISO 27000 series).

Who is this aimed at?

Anyone who is involved in the areas of information security and information assurance.

What are the entry requirements?

None. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What format is the exam?

  • A three hour scenario based, ‘closed book’ written exam:
    - Part A: 10 multiple choice questions (1 mark each)
    - Part B: 6 short answer questions (5 marks each)
    - Part C: 3 essay style questions (20 marks each)
  • Pass mark is 65% (65/100)

Note: Candidates must achieve a combined result of 65% in parts A and B, as well as an overall mark of 65%.

Where can I take the exam?

Option 1: With an accredited training provider

Option 2: At a public sitting:

Venue: BCS London Office
Register: Book now

Information Risk ManagementWhere can I read more?

You can read more in the syllabus.
BCS textbook, Information Risk Management, is recommended reading when preparing for the exam.

What can I do next?

You can work towards other Practitioner level certifications. If you work or are considering working in a cyber security/Information Assurance role, there is the CCP Scheme.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualification in Wales, CCEA or SQA.