Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige
Your location:

Test Automation Engineer

ISTQB Certified Tester Advanced Level (CTAL-TAE)

Part of the internationally recognised ISTQB® software testing scheme, candidates will take their knowledge and skills to an internationally recognised advanced level. Based on the ISTQB syllabus, certification focuses on the advanced skills required for test automation professionals.

Who is this aimed at?

Anyone working in software testing who have achieved an advanced point in their career. Test automation skills are becoming some of the most sought after disciplines within the software testing profession.

What are the entry requirements?

Successful completion of the ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation level and a minimum of three years testing experience is recommended. The Intermediate Certificate may also be helpful but is not required. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What format is the exam?

  • Ninety (90) minutes ‘closed book’
  • 40 simple and complex multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (49 of 75 credits)

Simple non-programmable calculators can be used during paper based examinations (to be provided by the candidate). Candidates taking online examinations will have access to an on-screen calculator. No other calculators or mobile technology will be allowed.

Where can I take the exam?

With an accredited training provider

Where can I read more?

You can read more in the Test Automation Engineer 2016 syllabus and sample questions document. The ISTQB smartshow is a useful introduction to the Advanced Level syllabuses launched in 2012.

ISTQB® is a Registered Trade Mark of the International Software Testing Qualifications Board.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualification in Wales, CCEA or SQA.