Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige


Foundation level certificate

This new certificate covers the range of concepts, approaches and techniques that are applicable to the BCS Foundation Level Certificate in DevOps and will be relevant to anyone requiring a broad understanding of the DevOps subject.

Who is this aimed at?

People involved in or implementing the DevOps process, including roles such as DevOps evangelist; automation architect; cloud infrastructure engineer; software developer; software tester; security engineer; database administrator and product owners. Read the syllabus below for a more complete list of roles.

What are the entry requirements?

None. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is highly recommended.

What format is the exam?

  • One hour ‘closed book’
  • 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 26/40 (65%)

Where can I take the exam?

With an accredited training provider.

Where can I read more?

You can read more in the syllabus.

From early December 2018, you will be able to test your knowledge with some specimen examination questions and a full sample paper including separated questions and answers.

We are planning a BCS textbook on the subject of DevOps, to be published in 2019.

What can I do next?

You may be interested in our other software testing, solutions development, business analysis or project management certifications. Remember to add your new certification to your LinkedIn profile and let your networks know about your achievement.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications in Wales, CCEA or SQA.